污水处理解决方案

这里阅读关于废水处理的不同解决方案。

丹麦的水处理和污水处理技术当属世界之最。

全球大部分地区在饮用水和污水处理领域正面临着严峻的挑战。这使世界增加了对丹麦水技术和丹麦水模式的兴趣,从而导致了在水行业持续增长的国际合作。

特别是丹麦的大型水务公司,例如我们在欧登塞市的合作伙伴南丹麦水务中心(VCS)和奥胡斯水务,都与国际合作伙伴建立了关系,丹麦的制造商向全球的公共机构和公用事业公司出售了大量的水技术产品和解决方案。很多人已经明显发现,丹麦的水技术公司和厂商可以提供一些额外和特别的价值,例如许多丹麦的污水处理厂已经或正在实现能源中性的水循环系统。

(来源:DANVA: Water in numbers 2017

废水处理

废水既被视为主要挑战,也是巨大机遇。由于水资源短缺和人口不断增长,处理废水以及理解废水的价值变得尤为重要。全球只有不到一半的废水被收集,而其中只有不到20%的废水经过处理后被排放到大自然。这说明优化废水处理有着巨大的潜力。在丹麦,所有的废水中有95%被处理,而且通常高于法律要求的排放标准。

同时,确保一个地区的废水基础设施具有最佳成本效益的设计也是一项挑战。在这里,集中式和分散式解决方案通过根据当地条件设计的下水道系统管网都可确保最有效和最经济的处理。

1. 废水作为清洁能源来源
正在迈向可生产能源的污水处理厂,并实现能源中性的水循环。

降低废水收集与处理的成本对于全世界的水务公司都是一项要务。为达到这一目标,须重点考虑成本效率、废水处理厂能源自给自足能力的提升,以及将多余能源出售给电网的可能性。

丹麦的大多数废水处理厂都投入资金用以评测各种降低能耗的方法。其中包括实施在线监测与能源管理系统、采用更具能源效率的底部曝气来替代表面曝气,以及其他不同的操作方法。

聚焦能源自给自足
近年来,丹麦的水务公司的关注焦点不再仅限于降低能源消耗,同时也关注能
源生产。首要目标通常是实现能源平衡,第二大目标则是能够向当地的供电与供
暖公司出售多余的电能与热能。

一些最大型的水务公司已经很好地实现 了这些目标。在丹麦的第二大城市奥胡
斯,Marselisborg污水处理厂在2015年产出的电能比其自身消耗的电能要高出
30%。同时,该处理厂产出的热能比起自身的消耗要高出80%,净能源产出超
过自身能源消耗的180%。在丹麦的第三大城市欧登塞,Ejby Mølle 污水处理厂
也达到了相近的能源产出水平。未来,两个城市的水务公司也将着手在废水排放
前回收其中的热能,与此同时还可以降低对接收水域的气温影响。

解决方案取决于处理厂的设计与所处环境

越来越多的丹麦废水处理厂通过污泥的厌氧消化和/或有机废品的混合消化来进行升级,并通过利用产生的沼气来生产电能与热能。最佳方案取决于单个处理厂的设计,以及评估对所产出的电能或热能是进行内部消耗还是对外销售的可能性。目前,哥
本哈根正在推行一种新技术,能够将沼气的质量提升至与天然气或车用燃气相近的水平。

迈向能源平衡的水循环
通过新技术的引入来降低能源消耗并提高能源产出,这就是公共事业单位实现能源平衡的水循环的目标。这种情况下,公共事业单位处理厂产出的能源就能够抵消地下水抽取、水处理、用水和废水运输,以及废水处理所消耗的能源。2015年,奥胡斯水务通过Marselisborg集水地区(奥胡斯市中心)的水循环实现了90%的净能源产出。

标杆管理与创新可降低成本
丹麦的水务公司都必须对其运营参数进行强制性的标杆管理,且必须实现整个供水行业的成本效益,这就很大程度上推动了在基础设施建设和运营方面的污水处理优化及节约成本的解决方案的创新发展。创新项目通常都是基于政府机构、水务单位、咨询公司、技术供应商,大学以及科研机构之间的协作。

来源:开启废水资源的潜力空间

2. 从废水中回收资源
废水处理厂作为资源回收设施

历来,人们都将废水视为累赘。越来越严格的废水排放标准也会增加处理成本。利用废水中的资源是降低处理成本的重要一步。

将废水视为资源是一种相对新颖的观点。不过,如今人们已经广泛地认识到废水中的有机成分可作为生产能源的资源,并且废水中的营养成分——尤其是磷——可用于肥料生产。经过处理的废水最后也能够得以净化到一定的高标准,用以满足如冲厕、洗衣或灌溉庄稼等用途。

利用有机成分

如以上章节所述,废水中的有机物质可以分离出来并用于生产沼气。这已经暂时成为较大型废水处理厂的标准流程,并且新的水处理技术与用于热电联产的更高效设备也拓宽了这一前景。如果引入新的养分去除的低碳工艺,有机成分可以存储起来作为能源用于沼气生产。对于碳的优化使用,丹麦拥有大量的经验,并且如今也正在逐步掌握回收养分的技术诀窍。

回收废水污泥中的磷
对于农业产业,磷是具有巨大价值的稀缺资源。累积于废水污泥与内部旁流中的磷如果处理得当,就可能实现纯化肥料的产出控制。回收磷酸盐用作肥料激活了污泥处理的众多可能性,并且避免颇具价值的磷最终化为灰烬等低质量形式,或与废水中的重金属和微污染物形成混合物。在丹麦,磷产品鸟粪石已被认定为一种肥料产品。

相比污水污泥,使用鸟粪石肥料的好处
相比在农地里施用污水污泥,将鸟粪石回收为纯矿物磷肥料的解决方案拥有众多优势:

  • 环境效益:重金属残留方面,鸟粪石显然比污水污泥更清洁。
  • 降低地下水污染的风险
  • 使用与储存更灵活:作为肥料,鸟粪石具有高得多的灵活性,因为它属于浓缩产品,为固体形式,因此能够储存更长的时间。
  • 经济效益:鸟粪石的售价高(最高335欧元/公吨)
  • 更适合用作肥料:废水处理厂已经对污泥中的磷进行了回收,因此其中的磷含量相对氮含量就更低。
  • 低溶解度:这就是其在化肥扩散方面的优点,不会有污染地下水和地表水的风险。
  • 更低的成本:要从灰烬中重新回收磷,相比从废水中分离出鸟粪石,其成本将高出5-10倍。

在废水的磷回收方面,基于磷回收的鸟粪石分离技术已经达到先进水平。但是,这项技术仍在发展之中,丹麦的水务机构与公司正在努力发展甚至更加高效的工艺方案。

来源:开启废水资源的潜力空间

3. 出水排放规范 作为创新驱动力
采用最高标准处理废水以保护人类与生态环境

许多国家几十年来都未对废水排放进行控制,导致其内陆与沿海水域都出现了严重的环境恶化。针对处理效率与污水质量方面进行更严格的监管标准是扭转这一趋势的重要工具。

监管促进发展
长期以来,环境都是丹麦的重点关注领域,并且一些最老的废水处理设施是在100多年前建设的,如今95%的废水都经过了处理。首批采取重大措施将城市废水排放对水生环境的不利影响降到最低的国家就包括丹麦。具体方式就是应用新技术,不仅是清除城市污染,而且还要使经过处理的城市污水达到一定的标准。这样一来就提升了丹麦城市的宜居性,同时也使周边区域更具吸引力。

在地理条件上,丹麦面临着缺乏用于排放城市污染物的重大水体。因此,环境因素长期以来都是重中之重,并且促使了自1980年代开始实施的严厉监管。在1990年代期间,丹麦针对敏感水域实施的标准又进一步加强了。丹麦通过的许多立法几乎都被欧盟全文采用,如今丹麦也遵循着欧盟水框架指令。但是,丹麦的法规在许多方面都比欧盟的一般要求更加严厉。从一开始,立法要求与标准都是以受体的具体评估为基础的,旨在确保周边水体水质的大幅度改善。

污染者买单原则
丹麦还推行了排放税来补充监管框架,这意味着污染者(在本白皮书中指废水处理设施)必须为其排放的每一千克排放物质缴税,而排放物质的三大关键参数是有机物质(BOD)、总的磷含量(P)以及氮含量(N)。这为丹麦的供水行业造就了一个非常具有创新和进步意义的优化策略。

最终大幅改善了水生环境,水质的改善使得三文鱼得以在河流和小溪中繁殖——甚至是在人口非常稠密的地区,这样的情况非常多。同时丹麦水体的休闲价值也提高了,今许多城市的内港都可供游泳。

来源:开启废水资源的潜力空间

4. 工业废水处理
从源头处理工业废水通常更具效益

市政废水处理厂的主要设计目的是去除易于降解的有机物与营养物质,这些都是生活废水的主要构成成分。但是,许多国家的污水管网与处理厂通常也要接收来自工业生产的废水。

工业废水大不相同
食品加工企业的废水一般都非常适合采用集中化的处理方式,因为其中通常富含易于降解的有机化合物,可为微生物的生长提供营养,因此可以促进生物流程。实际上,一些处理厂也很乐意接收来自食品加工行业的废水,因为这些废水可以提高他们的沼气产量,从而产出更多能源,同时也有助于他们的生物脱氮脱磷处理。

另一方面,来自制造行业的废水的组成则要复杂得多,并且通常还含有无法进行生物处理的物质,也可能含有妨碍微生物生长的物质,因此会影响生物处理流程或使得处理后的污泥不适合用作农业肥料。

在源头进行处理更高效
在源头对工业废水进行处理有诸多好处。首要一点是,可以根据具体的工业污染物进行专门的处理,通常这样的污染物在相对少量的废水中的浓度很高,因此需要的投入与处理成本就相对较低。更重要的一点是,也许可以在内部生产中对经过一定处理的废水进行循环利用或重复利用,或对原材料或化学物质进行回收或重复利用。

分散化处理方法
需要专门的处理工艺的工业污染物包括不可降解或难以降解的有机化合物、脂肪、润滑脂、石油、重金属,以及杀虫剂与药品等有毒的有机化合物。用于去除工业污染物的许多专门工艺都可以在源头应用,这些工艺包括中和反应、重金属沉淀、薄膜过滤、活性炭过滤、化学氧化、紫外线消毒、蒸发、晶体析出等。

来源:开启废水资源的潜力空间

Ilse Korsvang

Ilse Korsvang

Head of Project Management

Jorge Rico Villar

Jorge Rico Villar

Project Consultant

Lixia Duan

Lixia Duan

Project Consultant

+45 6020 8565
ld@dk-export.dk

Wastewater Solutions

Here you can read about different solutions within wastewater

Danish water – and wastewater treatment is among the best in the world

Large parts of the world are facing severe challenges with drinking water and wastewater treatment. This has caused interest in Danish water technology and the Danish water model to grow, which has led to increasing international cooperation in the water sector.

In particular, large Danish water companies such as our partner VCS Denmark in the city of Odense and Aarhus Vand are engaged in international partnerships and sell, in this connection, a large number of water technology products and solutions from Danish manufacturers to public authorities and utility companies all over the world. Many have apparently discovered that Danish water companies and producers have something extra and a bit special to offer such as a good number of Danish wastewater plants are already or on their way of becoming energy-neutral.

(Source: DANVA: Water in numbers 2017)

Wastewater

Wastewater is regarded as both a major challenge and a great opportunity. Due to increasing water scarcity and population growth, the importance of treating and understanding the value of wastewater has never been greater. Globally, less than half of all wastewater is collected and even less than 20 percent of it is treated before it is released back into nature. This represents a great potential for wastewater optimisation. In Denmark, 95 percent of all wastewater is treated – and often to a higher standard than the legal requirements.

At the same time, it is also a challenge to ensure the most cost-efficient design of an area’s wastewater infrastructure. Here, both centralised and decentralised solutions can ensure effective and cost-efficient treatment through a network of sewer systems designed according to local conditions. (Source: State of Green)

1. Wastewater as a source of clean energy
Heading for energy producing wastewater treatment
plants and an energy neutral water cycle.

Reducing the costs for collection and treatment of wastewater is an important issue for water utilities around the world. In order to achieve this, focus must be on cost efficiency, improvement of the wastewater treatment plants’ energy self-sufficiency and possible sale of surplus energy to the grid.

Most wastewater treatment plants in Denmark have invested in an assessment of different ways to reduce their energy consumption. These include implementation of online monitoring and energy management systems, replacement of surface aeration by more energy efficient bottom aerators and different operational approaches.

New focus towards energy self-sufficiency
In the recent years, Danish water utilities have moved beyond simply focusing on reducing energy consumption, to also focusing on energy production. The first goal is typically to become energy neutral, and the second goal is being able to sell excess electricity and heat to the local electricity and heating companies.

Some of the largest water utilities are already well on their way. In Odense, Denmark’s third largest city, the Ejby Mølle WWTP from VCS Denmark achieved 180% energy self-sufficiency (see how in the video). As a next step, the water utilities are now looking into recovering the heat from the wastewater before it is discharged with the additional benefit of reducing the temperature impact on the receiving waters.

Solutions depend on plant design and context
More and more wastewater treatment plants in Denmark are upgraded with anaerobic digestion of sludge and/or codigestion with organic waste products and they utilise the produced biogas to generate electricity and heat. The optimal solutions depend on the individual plant design and the possibilities for either internal use or external sale of the produced electricity or heat. In Copenhagen, a new technology is currently under implementation which allows for upgrading biogas to a quality which is similar to natural gas or vehicle fuel.

Heading for an energy neutral water cycle
By introducing new technologies to reduce energy consumption and improve energy production, it is the goal that the utility companies can provide an energy neutral water cycle. In this scenario the energy production from the utility’s treatment
plants is able to cover the energy consumption related to its groundwater extraction, water treatment, water- and wastewater transport as well as wastewater treatment. In 2015, Aarhus Water demonstrated a 90% net energy production for the
water cycle in Marselisborg catchment area (Aarhus city centre).

Benchmarking and innovation lead to lower costs
The innovation of new wastewater treatment optimisation and cost-efficient solutions for both the construction and operation of infrastructure is largely driving by the fact that Danish water utilities are subjected to mandatory benchmarking on operational parameters and cost efficiency across the water sector. Innovation projects are often based on collaboration across governmental bodies, water utilities, consulting companies, technology suppliers, universities and research institutions.

Source: “Unlocking the Potential of Wastewater” by State of Green

 

2. Resource recovery from wastewater
Wastewater treatment plants as resource recovery facilities

Traditionally, wastewater has been considered a liability. Meeting increasingly stricter standards for wastewater discharge also increases the costs of treatment. Utilising resources in the wastewater can prove an important step in the opposite direction.

Considering wastewater as a resource is a relatively new perspective, however today it is widely recognised that the organic content in the wastewater can be a resource for energy production, the nutrients – especially the phosphate – can be used for fertiliser production, and the water itself can be cleaned to such high standards that it can be reused in a number of ways – e.g. for flushing toilets or laundry machines.

Utilising organic content

Organic material in wastewater can be separated and utilised for biogas. This has been standard procedure in larger wastewater treatment plants for a while, and new water treatment technologies and more efficient equipment for combined power and heat production have increased the potential. Organic content can be saved for energy use in biogas production if new carbon saving processes for nutrient removal are introduced. Denmark has vast experience in optimising the use of carbon, and is now also gaining know-how in nutrient recovery.

Phosphorus recovery from wastewater sludge
Phosphorus is a scarce resource with great value for the agricultural sector. Phosphorus is accumulated in the wastewater sludge and in internal side streams and if treated properly, it is possible to change this into a controlled harvesting of a pure fertiliser. The recovery of phosphate for fertiliser enables a multitude of possibilities for sludge handling, not wasting the valuable phosphorus to end up in low quality form as ashes or mixed with heavy metals and micro pollutants from wastewater. The phosphorus product struvite has been approved in Denmark as a fertiliser product.

Benefits of using struvite fertiliser compared to sewage sludge
The solution of recovery of struvite as a pure mineral phosphorus fertiliser offers several advantages in comparison to the application of sewage sludge on agricultural land:

  • Environmental benefits: Struvite is significantly cleaner than the sewage sludge in terms of heavy metals.
  • Reduced risks of groundwater contamination.
  • Greater flexibility in terms of usage and storage: Struvite is much more flexible as a fertiliser as the material is concentrated, comes in a dry form and is possible to store for longer periods of time.
  • Economic benefits: Struvite can be sold at a high price (up to EUR 335 per tonne)
  • Better suited for fertiliser use: Sludge from wastewater treatment plants, which has recovered phosphorus, have a lower content of phosphorus relative to nitrogen.
  • Low solubility: This is an advantage for fertiliser spreading without danger of dissolution into groundwater or surface water.
  • Lower cost:  The cost of regaining phosphorus from ash is 5 to 10 times higher than extraction as struvite from wastewater.

Struvite based P-recovery is the stateof-the-art for phosphorus recovery from wastewater. The technology is still under development and Danish wastewater utilities and companies are working on developing even more efficient process solutions. 

Source: “Unlocking the Potential of Wastewater” by State of Green

3. Effluent requirements as a driver for innovation
Treating wastewater to the highest standard to protect people and ecosystems

In many countries, decades of uncontrolled wastewater discharge have resulted in severe environmental degradation of both inland and coastal waters. Stricter regulatory standards for both treatment efficiency and effluent quality are important tools for reversing this trend.

Regulation as a driver for development
The environment has been a key focus area in Denmark for a long period and some of the oldest wastewater treatment facilities were established more than 100 years ago and today, 95% of all wastewater is treated.

Denmark was among the first to take major steps in minimising the adverse impact from the cities’ wastewater discharge to the aquatic environment. The approach has been to use novel technologies and not just move the pollution away from the cities but treat the sewage water from the cities to an appropriate standard. This has enhanced the liveability in the Danish cities and made the surrounding areas more attractive.

Geographically, Denmark is challenged by the lack of major water bodies for discharge of pollutants from the cities. As a result, the environmental aspect has been important for a long time and has led to stringent regulation implemented since the 1980s, with the Danish standards for discharge to sensitive waters being further strengthened during the 1990s.

Much of the legislation passed in Denmark has been taken up almost in its full content by the European Union and today, Denmark is subject to the EU Water Framework Directive.

However, the Danish regulation is in many aspects more stringent than the general EU requirements. From the beginning, the legislative requirements and standards have been based on a specific evaluation of the recipient with the aim of ensuring vast improvements of the water quality in the surrounding water bodies.

The result has been a substantially improved aquatic environment with many cases of water quality enabling salmon breading in rivers and creeks – even in very densely populated areas. The recreational value of the Danish water bodies has also been improved and in many cities it is now possible to swim in the inner city harbours.

Source: “Unlocking the Potential of Wastewater” by State of Green

4. Industrial wastewater treatment
Treatment at the source is often more efficient for industrial wastewater.

Municipal wastewater treatment plants are mainly designed to remove easily degradable organic substances and nutrients which are the major constituents of domestic wastewater. However, in many countries the sewer network and treatment plants often also receive wastewater from industrial production.

Industrial wastewater differs a lot
Wastewater from food processing companies is generally well suited for centralised treatment since it is often rich in easily degradable organic compounds, which provide nutrients for the growth of microorganisms and thereby enhance the biological processes. In fact, some treatment plants actively encourage discharge of waste from food processing industries because it enables them to increase the biogas production and thereby generate more energy, as well as improves the biological removal of nitrogen and phosphorous.

Wastewater from manufacturing industry, on the other hand, has a much more complex composition and often includes substances that do not respond to biological treatment or which may hamper the growth of microorganisms and therefore interferes with the biological treatment processes or makes the sludge unsuitable for use in agricultural fertilisers.

More efficient to treat at the source
Treatment of industrial wastewater at the source has several advantages. First and foremost, treatment can be tailored to the specific industrial pollutants which typically occur in high concentrations in relatively small volumes of wastewater and therefore requires relatively low investment and operational costs.

More importantly, it may be possible to recycle or reuse wastewater internally in the production after partial treatment or to recover and reuse raw materials or chemicals.

Methods for decentralised treatment
Industrial pollutants, which require specialised treatment processes, include non-degradable or slowly degradable organic compounds, fat, grease, oil, heavy metals and toxic organic compounds such as pesticides and pharmaceuticals.

A number of specialised processes for removal of industrial pollutants can be applied at the source, including neutralisation, heavy metal precipitation, membrane filtration, activated carbon filtration, chemical oxidation, ultra-violet disinfection, evaporation, crystallisation and more.

Source: “Unlocking the Potential of Wastewater” by State of Green

Ilse Korsvang

Ilse Korsvang

Head of Project Management

Jorge Rico Villar

Jorge Rico Villar

Project Consultant

Lixia Duan

Lixia Duan

Project Consultant

+45 6020 8565
ld@dk-export.dk